USL announces 2018 conference alignment

USL - conference alignment

Photo credit: Robbie Mehling/Soc Takes

After a few offseason changes to its stable of clubs, the United Soccer League (USL) revealed its conference alignment for 2018 on Friday morning.

With 33 total teams, the league will be divided up into 16 sides in the Eastern Conference and 17 in the Western Conference. The Mississippi River separates the two divisions, with Saint Louis FC becoming the eastern-most team in the Western Conference, and Nashville SC the western-most squad in the Eastern Conference.

conference alignment

Image credit: USL

The Eastern Conference will consist of ATL UTD 2, Bethlehem Steel FC, Charleston Battery, Charlotte Independence, FC Cincinnati, Indy Eleven, Louisville City FC, Nashville SC, New York Red Bulls II, North Carolina FC, Ottawa Fury FC, Penn FC, Pittsburgh Riverhounds, Richmond Kickers, Tampa Bay Rowdies and Toronto FC II.

The Western Conference will include Colorado Springs Switchbacks FC, Fresno FC, LA Galaxy II, Las Vegas Lights FC, OKC Energy FC, Orange County SC, Phoenix Rising FC, Portland Timbers 2, Real Monarchs SLC, Reno 1868 FC, Rio Grande Valley FC, Sacramento Republic FC, Saint Louis FC, San Antonio FC, Seattle Sounders FC 2, Swope Park Rangers and Tulsa Roughnecks FC.

The league also confirmed Friday that Orlando City B will not partake in the 2018 season. The USL schedule is expected to be released in the very near future.

Support Soc Takes on Patreon for access to exclusive content and supporter benefits. Click here to become a patron today.

No Comment

Leave a Reply